Skip to content

Shop Goodwill for New Year’s Eve style

December 28, 2010

As the New Year approaches, I start thinking about glitz and glamour and party outfits for all the celebrations. For me, one of the most fun parts about putting together an outfit is accessorizing my look, and I love nothing more than doing this with a little something vintage.

My jewelry box is filled with vintage rhinestone clip-ons, some from my grandmother and great-grandmother and others that I’ve collected over the years from my thrift store scavenging. Some of them I’ve even found in broken sets in bargain bins at Goodwill. It’s a shame to pass up such beautiful designs when they can be used for much more than adorning your ears. I love using these tiny treasures to add sparkle, and you can be sure that I’ll be doing just this for my New Year celebrations this year!

Here are my top five favorite ways to use thrifted clip-ons to add a bit of sparkle to your look:

  • Add them to your hair, just like hair clips. If your hair needs some extra hold, use a bobby pin underneath.
  • Clip onto an ordinary pair of pumps or flats to add some sparkle to your feet.
  • Embellish the neckline of a shirt or the edge of a pocket, just like a brooch.
  • Clip an earring through a woven knit, like a handmade scarf or hat.

And remember that you can split the set to accessorize, wearing one by itself or mixing and matching. How do you plan to add some sparkle to your New Year celebrations?

-Amanda Aileen Fisher


Stop by our Contributors page for more about Amanda, or read her other posts here.

Share

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 161 other followers

