Skip to content

Guest Post: Shoe Redo

May 16, 2011

Amanda

To a crafty thrifter like me, it’s a common occurrence to walk into Goodwill and spot a piece of clothing that I can refashion or remake. But shoes? Well, that’s just a whole other story.

I love all the vintage shoes that I find at Goodwill and happily wear them just as they come. But I can’t tell you how many pairs of newer flats, heels, and wedges I’ve passed up because the design felt boring and the attempts at accents looked cheap.

I’ve never thought of reworking a pair of shoes or considered it possible, but Disney of Ruffles & Stuff opened my mind!

With an arsenal of simple supplies (a leather needle, thimble and thread, scrap fabric, and shoes, of course), this is a fashion project you can have ready right before you grab your bag and hit the town. And don’t look past thrifted materials for your scrap fabrics, either.

Disney suggests re-purposing leather from an old wallet or water resistant materials from a handbag to make your shoe baubles and flourishes.

Lemon Stick Wedges from Anthropologie, $148

Jemmy by Nine West, $79

Furoshiki Flats from Anthropologie, $268

Click on over for the full tutorial and whip up some Anthropologie look-alikes in no-time (and for oh… for about 1/20 of the price)!

-Amanda Aileen Fisher


Stop by our Contributors page for more about Amanda, or read her other posts here.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 159 other followers

