Skip to content

DIY: Candlestick Re-do

August 8, 2011

Attention readers: Please welcome our newest contributor, Kim! She shares her latest thrifty projects and DIY expertise on her blog, SuperChyc. We’re excited to have Kim on board to share her secrets with us!

Kim

I love taking something simple and random and making something unexpected and beautiful out of it.

Every time I go into a Goodwill store, I find an abundance of candlesticks. Gold ones, silver ones, glass ones… I decided to hit the net to look for inspiration.  It never ceases to amaze me how many creative, crafty people there are in blogland.

I shouldn’t be surprised by how much people were able to make from a versatile item like a candlestick.

Here are my favorite ideas…

This is the cutest idea I’ve seen yet.  Personally, I would have this as a part of my everyday decor.  You could also use this idea for birthday parties, holidays like Halloween and Christmas, or events like a wedding or baby shower.

What you need to recreate this look:

  1. Leftover pickle jars (or mason jars)
  2. Spray paint
  3. Candlesticks
  4. Adhesive

Last, but not least, this is a great way to add dimension to a group of frames.

What you need to recreate this look:

  1. Candlesticks
  2. Spray paint
  3. Adhesive

I’m sure there are a million other ideas of what you can do with candlesticks. Hope these ideas have inspired you.  Happy DIY-ing!

2 Comments
  1. Don permalink
    August 16, 2011 8:18 am

    Those are great!
    One suggestion…
    On the ones with the jars, I’d attach the lid part to the candlestick.
    You can paint the lid the same color as the candlestick & it would be less obtrusive.

    Nice idea, thanks!

  2. August 18, 2011 10:53 am

    These are so cute! I’ll have to try out your suggestions! -DCGF

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 160 other followers

