Skip to content

Goodwill Outlet: Fashion By the Pound?

September 28, 2011

Rachel

I was dubious when I heard there was a place where Goodwill sold clothing by the pound. How on Earth could that be possible or desirable?

I had never considered the weight of my clothing purchases until I found myself with a few free minutes near the storied Goodwill Outlet Center off Freedom Drive. That was the day, I swore to myself, I wasn’t going to be in the dark any longer. I would get to the bottom of this clothing-by-the-pound mystery.

Goodwill Freedom Drive Outlet

Actually, it’s not that mysterious, but a chance for some incredible deals if you’re in the mood to really dig. Long, flat tables are covered in “dry goods” which can be anything from bedding to costumes to outwear to clothing (I saw a down comforter and duvet as well as table linens in the mix during my visit). Anything on a table can be tossed in a rolling bin (there are no shopping carts) and will be sold at $1.39 a pound.

Shoppers were calm and courteous during my visit, but I saw signs of previous aggressive shopping behavior near the shoe department. And who can blame folks for getting worked up about shoes? I certainly can’t, especially when they are less than $3.49 a pair.

Most decor and furniture items are 50 percent off, and books are deeply discounted: soft cover and children’s books cost 25 cents, hard cover books cost 50 cents.

Cynthia Rowley Dress

“The inventory in our stores changes so quickly that if something doesn’t sell within three or four weeks, the store managers send those items to the Outlet for one last chance at being sold,” says Lelia King, Goodwill Public Relations and Promotions Manager. “We try to be good stewards of all of our donations, so we want to give them every chance to find a new home (and to use money from the purchases to fund our job training programs).”

My haul for the day totaled just over $3 for an Army jacket, a fairy costume for my daughter and this adorable Cynthia Rowley dress.

What do you think? Would you dive into the treasure hunt at the Goodwill Outlet?

2 Comments
  1. September 28, 2011 9:47 am

    I’ve always avoided this particular Goodwill but after reading your article, I’m willing to give it a try.

    Thank you.

    • September 28, 2011 11:12 am

      We hope you enjoy it! Just make sure you give yourself enough time to go through each table. We know there are treasures to be found! Thanks for stopping by.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 157 other followers

