Skip to content

Guest Post: Brights Light up my World

March 9, 2012

Rachel

For someone who wears as much black clothing as I do, it’s surprising (even to me) that I’m so drawn to the uber-trendy bright colors of this spring. Especially the neon, which has crept back into our fashion consciousness again — yay!

I guess it’s a case of “do as I say, not as I do.” I’m working on changing that, but let’s first talk about the color so dense and delicious, I want to eat it up.

Brights photo courtesy of refinery29.com

Color is everywhere this spring, in a zillion different incarnations: Florals, prints, tribal influences, just to name a few. I’m especially entranced by bright, super-saturated solids in colors, and hot pink (fuschia), cobalt blue and kelly green are rocking my colorless world at this moment.

If you’re unable to dive right into the ROYGBIV dressing pool like I am, there are a few things you can do to incorporate color into your wardrobe without spending lots of money:

  • Go slow. Start with a pair of bright sunglasses, or a pair of earrings.
  • Don’t be afraid of colorful shoes. I am coveting a pair of hot pink patent leather heels right now. And a pair of black strappy platform sandals with neon pink and yellow accents. And a pair of cobalt blue wedges.
  • Build upon your wardrobe of staples by adding in a splash of color through a belt, with a completer piece like a sweater or jacket, or with a handbag. Goodwill is a great place to start building out your colorful accents!
  • Be fearless! Color won’t hurt you! Assemble a Pinterest inspiration board for dressing colorfully and give your self time to have a personal styling session in front of the mirror at home.

I guess I should take my own advice, huh?


Thanks, Rachel! What about you, loyal readers? What bright, bold pieces will you include with your spring/summer wardrobe?

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 157 other followers

