Skip to content

One in, one out. Almost.

May 14, 2012

Rachel

This is the last in our series of posts about spring cleaning. If you haven’t yet started to clear the clutter in your home, check some of our previous posts for tips on how to get moving!

This is my closet, post Spring-cleaning.

Photo courtesy of MarthaStewart.com

Well, not really. That’s Martha Stewart’s version of a post-cleaning closet. A girl can dream and aspire, right?

As the seasons change and I flip my closet from winter to summer (though this year it wasn’t that dramatic, given our lack of truly cold weather in Charlotte), I love the sense of renewal. Here’s my chance to start fresh, to rid myself of things that no longer fit, I no longer wear, to make room for new shoes, dresses and accessories.

If you’re giving your closet a spring/summer cleaning, adopting a few of these best practices will speed the process along and fill up those donation bags for Goodwill.

Create four piles: Keep, donate, maybe and alter. They’re pretty self-explanatory, but the caveat is anything in the alter pile needs to be altered. (I am guilty of moving my alter pile around my closet for close to a year now. It’s time to get serious, or donate. Really.) Once you are all the way through your closet, reassess the maybe pile and resort into keep, donate or alter.

Styles change: It is OK if there are things in your closet that are no longer your style. They will be the height of fashion for someone else. Let them go.

Be selectively sentimental: Clothing tied to special memories is fine — your prom dress, your favorite shoes that you bought in Italy in 1998 (guilty) — but don’t let those memories choke your closet. Edit tightly and with a realistic eye. Do I wear that leather backpack (also an Italy purchase) as much as I used to some 14 years ago? No. But it’s still a good bag, in good shape, and I don’t have multiple leather backpacks. It stays. For now.

Be Ruthless: If that sounds too aggressive, then think of it as being truthful. If you haven’t it worn it in a year, it goes to Goodwill. I am a former clothing hoarder, and now it’s incredibly freeing to let go of the things that no longer work for me (for whatever reason), but could make someone else quite happy.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 159 other followers

