Skip to content

Guest post: Mastering the 30-day Goodwill Challenge

October 23, 2012

Today we’re excited to welcome a true Goodwill fan and shopper to the blog! Rachelle can be seen often at several of our local Goodwill locations, and she recently launched her own “30-day challenge” to wear outfits from Goodwill every day. We were  inspired by the results! Check out Rachelle’s outfits below, and tell us – could you take the Goodwill 30-day challenge?


I do most of my shopping at Goodwill. There’s almost nothing you can’t find at Goodwill (well, maybe with the exception of socks!). I LOVE shopping at Goodwill. I can find things and brands that I might never have seen in a mall or another store. It’s a great cross-section of stuff that ends up there.

I started shopping at Goodwill at the Mountain Island Lake store. Now, that’s a great store (and I do love it), but it wasn’t until I discovered the joy of the Freedom Drive Goodwill Outlet that my Goodwill obsession REALLY began!

The Freedom Drive Outlet can be a little overwhelming at first. In fact, the first time I went in, I didn’t know what to do, and I just turned right back around and left. I was used to racks and things that were sorted. The bins full of clothing were more than I knew what to do with.

But when a friend offered to go along with me and show me the ropes, I said yes – and now the Freedom Drive Outlet is my favorite Goodwill of them all!

The thing about the Freedom Drive Outlet is that you don’t go in looking for anything in particular. You have to go and look and let items find you. It’s like the most fun treasure hunt ever! And the fact that the clothing is sold by the pound means that whatever you find is going to be super EXTRA cheap. Win!

It was a couple of trips to the Freedom Drive Outlet that prompted my “Goodwill 30 Day Challenge.” While it does take some work to sort through those bins, the finds and the prices mean you end up with A LOT of variety and great purchases!

I came home from a trip and remarked that I bet I could easily wear a different outfit every day for 2 months based on all the cool things I bought. That chance remark prompted me to give it a try – and so I set myself the “30 Day Goodwill Outfit Challenge!”

I would wear a different outfit every day for 30 days – and at least one part of it, if not ALL of it, had to be from Goodwill.

And I did it.

And… it was EASY! Because I can always find such cute name-brand things at Goodwill and mix and match them to create vastly different looks depending on my mood.

Below are a few examples:

In this outfit, the skirt (Gap), shirt, necklace and earrings all came from Goodwill.

The nice thing about the Freedom Drive Outlet? The skirt and shirt together might weigh a pound… so that outfit? $1.39. The necklace and earrings were marked $1.99… but those are 50% off at the outlet.. So all that for just about $3!

IMG_0990

This outfit features an ADORABLE sweater dress, chain belt, necklace, and a bracelet you can’t see in this picture.

Again, since the belt is part of what is sold “by the pound,” this outfit might have weighed … 2 pounds? So, again this outfit still cost under $5!

IMG_1025

This one’s a little more casual. Everything in this picture except the shoes is from Goodwill. The jacket and jeans (Abercrombie & Fitch jeans!) were from the Mountain Island Lake store, so this outfit was a touch more expensive (if you can call it that). But even so, less than $10 for the whole thing. Where else are you going to get Abercrombie and Fitch jeans for less than $5?
IMG_1023

Finally – this fabulous little dress (Old Navy) and the sweet belt, earrings, necklace – ALL from the Freedom Drive Outlet. Whole outfit was less than $5.
446

The whole 30-day challenge was fun, and I was able to put together a different outfit every day with no problem at all. I could have kept going, but there were some outfits I wanted to wear again!

Another nice thing is that since none of these items cost me very much at all, if I decide I do not want to wear something again, I just donate it back to Goodwill and someone else can buy it and put it in their collection. (And that makes room in my closet for another treasure hunt at the Freedom Drive Goodwill!)


We couldn’t have said it better ourselves, Rachelle. And remember, 90 cents out of every dollar spent at Goodwill directly funds job training and employment programs for thousands of people in our community every year. Sounds like a win-win!

What do you think? Could you take the Goodwill 30-day challenge?

2 Comments
  1. October 23, 2012 9:15 am

    Excellent. There are plenty of Goodwill stores in my area and I spend a fair amount of time in the one nearest where I work. I wish there was a Goodwill Outlet nearby.

    • October 23, 2012 9:16 am

      Deborah, we hope you can visit us soon to get the full experience!

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 160 other followers

