Skip to content

Success Story Friday: Clairsean

May 13, 2010

Editor’s Note: This is the first in a series of posts we’ll be sharing with our readers each week. We’ll be publishing a success story every Friday to get your weekend started off on a positive note!

After losing her apartment, her job and her sense of security, Clairsean had no other choice; she moved back in with her mom. Pregnant with her second child, she worried about the future.

“I was completely broke. It was crushing,” Clairsean recalls. “My mom had wanted to get me out of the restaurant business. She knew how hard I worked and that I wasn’t being compensated enough. I had tried before to get out of the restaurant business. No one would hire me. I felt I could do so much more.”

Wanting to help, Clairsean’s mom registered her for Goodwill’s nine-week Banking and Customer Service training program. By the time she graduated, Clairsean’s phone was ringing daily with requests for job interviews. She landed four job offers, and accepted a teller position with SunTrust Bank. Today, the single mother of two is saving to buy a house.

“Goodwill shot my confidence through the roof. Especially learning interview skills, redoing my resume, and just everything Goodwill did overall to help me be ready to go back into the job force,” Clairsean says. “It’s a respectable career. Working in a bank is the ultimate trust. It says a lot about you and your character.”

Clairsean will be recognized at our Cornerstone Celebration on May 20 with one of our Good Work! Awards, and she was also featured in one of our recent THIS is Goodwill videos. Visit our YouTube page to watch it!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

