Skip to content

Guest post: Giving Goodwill finds new life

June 16, 2010

What does this item look like to you?

To me, it’s a fabulously chic and colorful charging station. Or at least, it will be. The interior will have a padded, upholstered base on which my iPod, Blackberry and mobile WiFi unit can rest. I’m thinking the exterior will be high-gloss pink or red.

Creative vision is a wonderful thing. And if you’ve got it, Goodwill is a playground in which there are few boundaries or limits. I love that I can take a cast-off, see past the garish or outdated exterior, and create something new (at least to me).

I’ve been on a roll lately. Check out the bedroom set I snagged from a neighbor’s yard sale and turned into a suite that matches my daughter’s personality perfectly. (Inspiration nod to Martha Steward Living Magazine and Charlotte Interior Designer Cynthia Urbanik.)

BEFORE

AFTER

What treasures have you rehabbed? Share your pics on our Facebook page or our Flickr group. Maybe you’ll inspire someone else!

-Rachel Sutherland


Editor’s Note: This post was written by guest blogger and Goodwill shopper Rachel Sutherland. Stop by our Contributors page for more about Rachel.


Share

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

