Skip to content

Success Story Friday: Jerome

July 2, 2010

After Jerome moved to Charlotte in 2007, he had a hard time finding work because he lacked computer skills. Eventually, he moved in with his son.

“I considered myself homeless because I didn’t have my own home,” says Jerome. “All I had was my car and my clothes. That was the low point for me. A man’s identity is connected to his job. You feel worthless and inadequate. I was always used to having a job.”

Enter Goodwill, where Jerome received career counseling and Basic PC Skills Training through our Freedom Drive Job Connection.

“Goodwill gave me a sense of hope,” he says. “The counselor gave me the push I needed. She showed me how to write a resume.”

Jerome’s extensive work experience in shipping and receiving as well as in the food service and security industries, plus his new knowledge and skills earned at Goodwill, landed him a job at Homewood Suites in Davidson. Now, he lives in his own place, has a savings account, and hopes to one day move into a management role.

“Goodwill boosted my self esteem. Before, I was depressed. I feel like a million dollars now,” Jerome says.

Share

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

