Skip to content

Success Story Friday: Alex

August 6, 2010

After moving to the States from his native Nicaragua, finding work was a challenge for Alex. It took two years of job-hunting and occasional work as a soccer referee, before he landed a job–joining Goodwill as a donation processor in our Freedom Drive Outlet store.

“There’s a lot of people like me, just looking for something,” says Alex. “Goodwill gave me one opportunity. That’s all I asked for.”

Now, after five months on the job, Alex calls himself “the most happy man.” He’s once again able to provide for his wife and five-year-old son, and he’s regained his confidence. “I feel I owe a lot to this company,” he says. “I don’t just work for my check. I work from my heart.”

With his new skills and confidence, Alex hopes to gain even more skills to help further his career. “I don’t have words to explain how glad I am,” he says. “Thank you to everyone in this company. Because you do your jobs, I have this opportunity.

“What I love about Goodwill is that I have been learning a lot. I have been growing,” says Alex. “I know I can do more, I can grow.”

Share


Editor’s Note: This is the latest installment in a series of posts we’ll be sharing each week. We’ll publish a success story every Friday to get your weekend started off on a positive note! To read previously published Success Story Friday posts, click here.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

