Skip to content

Athletic gear at Goodwill? Score!

August 18, 2010

For kids, it’s time to go back to school. For parents, it’s time to drop a ton of money on supplies, backpacks, lunchboxes, clothes … the list goes on and on.

Like most parents, I’m looking to cut costs wherever I can. And Goodwill is a great place to start. I consider myself a pro when it comes to buying nearly-new, name-brand children’s clothes, but I recently realized another great way to save at Goodwill — athletic gear.

My son is seriously sports-obsessed. Despite the oppressive summer temps, he wore his Jake Delhomme Carolina Panthers jersey on so many consecutive days, it almost melted into his skin.

So I was fired up when I found a Panthers blue Stephen Davis jersey at the Cornelius Goodwill. We’ll call it vintage (Davis hasn’t played for the Panthers since 2006), and it was the right price $2.49 versus $60 new. Thankfully, my little Panthers fan doesn’t care so much about the name on the back as he does about the growling cat on the front.

Thrifted jerseys are such a revelation, I Googled information on Goodwill thrift stores in Michigan for us to hit while we’re visiting family this month. I’m hoping we can find some Detroit Red Wings and Detroit Pistons gear for our little sports nut.

-Rachel Sutherland


Editor’s Note: This post was written by guest blogger and Goodwill shopper Rachel Sutherland. Stop by our Contributors page for more about Rachel.

Share

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

