Skip to content

Guest Post: Halloween? Already?

September 29, 2010

Erin L. HubbsHaving a plan and taking your time to find the perfect pieces is exactly what Halloween and Goodwill are all about. Have I lost you? Let me explain.

A few years ago, my son wanted to be a pirate. Sure, I could have hustled over to the closest big box store and bought him a costume off the rack, but where’s the fun in that?

Instead, I examined pictures of Captain Jack Sparrow and other pirates to study their style. Lots of scarves? Check. Sword? Of course.

A month or so before Halloween, I started my pirate-y search at Goodwill stores across the Charlotte area. On my list: black sweat pants ($2.79), an adult-sized black vest ($3.79), colorful scarves (99 cents each) and costume jewelry (price varies).

The beautiful thing about a pirate look, and just about any costume, is that it doesn’t need to be exact. The more individual and custom, the better. The sweat pants were forgiving (elastic waist) and were the perfect no-sew solution to cropped pants (we rolled them up to his knees).

I augmented my Goodwill finds with a few pirate accessories from Target (tights, hat and sword) and a bunch of things we already hand on hand: white T-shirt and high-top sneakers. I spent less than $25 for the entire getup, and after Halloween, we had more apparel to toss in our dress up bin in the playroom.

-Rachel Sutherland


Editor’s Note: This post was written by guest blogger and Goodwill shopper Rachel Sutherland. Stop by our Contributors page for more about Rachel.

Share

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

