Skip to content

Guest Post: Simple Antique Tray Makeover

November 2, 2010

I am an antique dish addict. The only problem is that there are only so many plates, cute cups, and serving pieces that I can fit in my kitchen, so I am always looking for new ways to use these beautiful objects. Here is one quick re-use project that I recently completed, and it only took me a matter of minutes!

I found a beautiful antique tray at Goodwill.

I loved the metallic pastels and the vintage design, but knew that it would go better in my sewing room than in my more primary-colored kitchen. It sat against my peachy coral wall for months before it finally occurred to me that this metal tray was magnetic (obviously!) — perfect for a little board to hold my precious papers and lovely little notes that I always hold onto.

The transformation was simple. I bought a plate hanger and snapped it around the back, and voila! A nail in the wall was all I needed to get it hanging.

Instead of using ordinary magnets from my refrigerator to hold everything in place, I wanted to make something that would compliment the playful, lighthearted look of the tray. My solution: re-purposed buttons (many of which came off clothing from Goodwill), a little hot glue, and some strong magnets that I picked up at the craft store.

So simple, and so cute!

Just think of all the potential uses for a tray display on your wall; it could hold your week’s recipes, coupons & receipts, postcards from friends, or you could even make your own monthly calendar page that would look lovely framed inside. I would love to hear what ideas you come up with!

-Amanda Aileen Fisher


Stop by our Contributors page for more about Amanda, or read her other posts here.

 

Share

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

