Skip to content

Guest Post: Rachel’s two easy DIY projects

November 10, 2010

Erin L. HubbsI don’t know about you, but I can’t sit down and focus on until my surroundings are properly arranged.

Within the last month, I moved into a new office space in Plaza Midwood and I haven’t had a chance to make it feel more “me.”

So I set out to finish two projects for which I have spent the last year or so gathering materials. (While that sounds all kinds of impressive and important, like it was such a massive project it required a year to plan and execute, it was more like having an idea, picking up bits and pieces here and there, then finally committing to create.)

The first is my interpretation of a charging station I spotted on the Matters of Style Blog. I scoured multiple Goodwill locations for a hinged wooden box, and finally found one in decent shape for $3.99. I am in deep love with high-gloss, saturated colors, so I went for chalky pink spray paint.

My second piece of “Make it Me” office decor was an inspiration board, prompted by a a 40×32 inch gold frame I plucked from a curbside trash pile. I love the frame, it was in great shape, and best of all, it is BIG. I ripped out the broken glass and warped art, and eventually replaced with a piece of peg board onto which I spray-mounted cork panels. I then covered that with poly-cotton batting and wonderfully graphic fabric from IKEA using my trusty electric staple gun.

Once I hauled the big frame and my pink charging station into the office, I immediately felt more at home. And once the inspiration board was decorated (so what if there are three near identical pictures of designer Tom Ford?), my creativity and focus returned.

-Rachel Sutherland


Stop by our Contributors page for more about Rachel, or read her other posts here.

 

Share

Leave a Reply

