Skip to content

Success Story Friday: Waliyya

November 12, 2010

Waliyya is all smiles these days. After graduating from Goodwill’s nine-week Banking and Customer Service training program, she landed a job at a human services agency working in compliance and quality assurance.

The 59-year-old initially came to Goodwill after feeling discouraged after working temp jobs for several years and being unable to secure full-time employment. She had been laid off from a computer manufacturing company in 2001, and even with 35 years of experience in the field, she couldn’t find a new job.

“I knew I had skills,” Waliyya says. “I had been out of the job market for so long, though.”

At Goodwill, she learned new 10-key and customer service skills, which she applies to her new job. Plus, Goodwill helped prepare her for the job market, she says.

“Goodwill made me aware that I was a valuable person. I was so encouraged to learn new skills at my age,” Waliyya says. “I would recommend it to anyone who needs to update their skills.”

Waliyya’s success is why she sent her son, Khary, to Goodwill for help. Khary went through the OMITT Trade School at Goodwill, learning electrical installation and maintenance, HVAC maintenance, carpentry, plumbing, automotive repair and maintenance, and small engine repair.

“I appreciate having a job I can count on,” Waliyya says. “I love my job.”

Share

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

