Skip to content

Organization–the stylish way.

January 11, 2011

Decorating is my thing. Organization–not so much.

I love to make rooms pretty, but struggle with bringing order to the often unseen areas of my home. With a new year comes new chances, so I thought it might be fun to look at functional but fashionable ways to organize those unsightly areas that all most of us have.

image via Martha Stewart
If there’s one area in my bedroom that stays in disarray, it’s my jewelry drawer. I love this pretty solution for avoiding jumbled heaps of necklaces and bracelets. Use a combination of teacups and saucers to divide up your pieces. Mix up various china patterns and colors for an eclectic, feminine look.
image via Apartment Therapy
Almost everybody has several of those vases you get from the florist. I always see them lining the shelves of my local Goodwill. They’re actually a wonderful way to display and organize your necklaces. You’ll feel like you’re shopping at a jewelry boutique every time you step into your closet.
image via Country Living
Who knew a great solution for your jewelry storage may be hiding in your shed? Using an old rake to hold and separate necklaces is an inventive way to add some character to your closet.
keys-in-a-bowl-organization-easy
image via Young House Love
Give your junk drawer (you know you have one–or two!) a face-lift by using baskets and bowls to separate items. Small flower pots are also great to use in drawers for holding random rubber bands, paperclips, etc.
image via Good Housekeeping
Always losing your keys? Place a pretty bowl by your entry door to help keep your sanity and add a little style at the same time.
Think outside the box for cheap and easy organization tools. This creative blogger used a dish rack to hold files and pencils on her desk.

So, here’s to getting organized in 2011! Make a list of what areas you would like to tackle and take it with you next time you’re scouring the aisles of your Goodwill store. Surprising storage solutions may be staring right at you.

-Emily A. Clark

Share

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Penny Williams permalink
    January 11, 2011 1:24 pm

    The rake and dishrack are genius!

  2. January 11, 2011 2:52 pm

    OMG, these are great tips Emily! I love that idea with the tea cups and saucers. Oh, and how about the rake? Fabulous girl!!

    WHy didn’t I know you wrote for Goodwill?! Oh how I would love an opportunity like this! Congrats girl:-)

    • January 11, 2011 3:20 pm

      Thanks for the great comment, Lakeitha! We’re thrilled to have Emily’s stylish expertise on our blog!

  3. January 11, 2011 3:15 pm

    LOVE the teacups, adorable. lovely ideas and photos -keep them coming! 🙂 xx

  4. January 11, 2011 4:31 pm

    Totally gorgeous!

  5. Stephanie permalink
    January 11, 2011 10:06 pm

    I am SO doing the vase/jewelry idea! Great ideas emily!

  6. bellaisabella15 permalink
    January 12, 2011 2:58 am

    very cute ideas, I love shopping hunting at goodwill when I am back in the states.

  7. tinkerbell2006 permalink
    January 12, 2011 8:02 am

    Hi Emily,

    I think your idea’s and your things are beautiful and you will go far with them.

  8. January 12, 2011 10:05 pm

    Love it! As a professional organizer I am always looking for unique ways to give my clients inspiration!

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Organization–the stylish way. « Wow! Goodwill -- Topsy.com

Leave a comment