Skip to content

Easy DIY: Spring Plate Projects

March 8, 2011

As the spring starts to blossom, I always want to do little projects around the house, and somehow my mind always turns to vintage dishes with bright colors and floral designs.

To me, there’s nothing better than sitting on my front porch with a glass of lemonade and a sweet treat on a lovely vintage plate. But there are more ways to surround yourself with these fanciful designs–and you can find most of your materials right at your local Goodwill! Here are two plate projects that are on my to-do list this spring.

photo via ReadyMade

I found this tiered plate project on the Ready Made blog. A reader wrote in with this idea, which she created from her finds at her local Goodwill. Aside from plates and candle holders, all it takes is a little glue to make this charming stand for your next party.

Photo by HollyBairy on Flickr

This idea came from the Goodwill Hunting group on flickr, a great source for inspiration on creative ways to use your Goodwill discoveries. It will soon be time to plant my little vegetable bed alongside the front of my porch, and I can’t think of a better way to keep it decorative for the front of my house. I can only fit so many plates in my cupboard, so I’ll let the yard hold the rest!

-Amanda Aileen Fisher


Stop by our Contributors page for more about Amanda, or read her other posts here.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Amber permalink
    March 9, 2011 9:25 am

    Here’s another project I’ve been meaning to try with recycled china, a teacup bird feeder:

    http://blog.craftzine.com/archive/2008/09/recycled_teacup_birdfeeder.html

    Now I just have to figure out how to keep the squirrels away!

Leave a Reply

