Skip to content

Shop Goodwill for a trip down memory lane.

March 11, 2011

Erin L. HubbsI’ll never get tired of being stopped in my tracks by things that take me back to a specific time or place in my life.

Songs have a particular way of doing this, especially early 1990s grunge. Anything from Pearl Jam’s Ten instantly transports me right back to all-night pig roast parties with friends at Michigan State University in East Lansing. But I digress.

During a recent Goodwill outing with my girlfriends, I took a welcome mental detour to the late 1970s and early 1980s of my youth via the housewares section.

First it was a handful of Corelle dishes that were like those used and beloved by my Gram Freda. Just like that, I back at her kitchen table, eating Spaghettios and white bread slathered with butter or eating her impossible-to-duplicate mac and cheese.

Then, I found an innocent stack of Pyrex casserole dishes, from a pattern collection called Spice of Life.

I used my mom’s similarly-patterned bakeware to take my first culinary steps in the kitchen, going off-recipe to make my favorite green bean casserole: no soy sauce, no milk, extra cream of mushroom soup and add cheese. (And, for the record, I now prefer to make the entire thing from scratch.)

From time to time, I have supplemented my tiny stash of Gram Freda’s vintage Pyrex with pieces I’ve picked up at Goodwill. But if I want to take instantly take a trip down memory lane, I love clicking through the Goodwill Hunting Flickr group. Vintage voyeurism and dishware love all in one place.

What have you found at Goodwill lately that brought back memories for you?

-Rachel Sutherland


Stop by our Contributors page for more about Rachel, or read her other posts here.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

