Skip to content

Guest Post: Desk Makeover

April 19, 2011

Emily

When my kids’ babysitter showed me pictures of a desk she recently found at Goodwill, I just knew I had to share with my fellow bargain shoppers.

The price was incredible, and her makeover–even better.

After shopping all day for a new desk for her room, she happened to swing into her local Goodwill (in Concord) and found this for just $35:

(I’m guessing it hadn’t been sitting there long, which is another reason to shop often.) She gave the desk a fresh coat of white spray paint (I love how white lets you see all of the details) and changed the hardware.
Total cost of the project, including desk, new hardware (found at Lowe’s and Target, on clearance) and paint was less than $55!
I think it’s an even better version of the Martha Stewart Living Ingrid desk sold at Home Decorators for $350 (plus shipping!):
Martha Stewart Living™ Ingrid Desk
Have you found a great treasure for your home at Goodwill lately? Share your finds in the Flickr “Goodwill Hunting” group.

-Emily A. Clark


Stop by our Contributors page for more about Emily, or or read her other posts here.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. Natasha permalink
    April 19, 2011 8:36 am

    That looks great!!

  2. April 19, 2011 9:42 am

    It looks fabulous. Such a great find. I don’t find furniture at mine, however I do find tons of wonderful home decor items. She did a wonderful job with the makeover. Love her vignette also. Hugs, Marty

  3. April 19, 2011 9:43 am

    Thanks for the comments, Natasha and Marty! It’s amazing what a transformation you can make to Goodwill finds with just a little bit of effort. 🙂

  4. April 19, 2011 10:13 am

    I can’t get over how close it matches the Martha Stewart desk. It looks great!

  5. Rondell permalink
    April 19, 2011 10:28 am

    I’m hunting for a desk, wish I could find one like that and the price was great on it!

  6. April 19, 2011 10:55 am

    Absolutely gorgeous! Another great find at the Good Will! So jealous, this is exactly what I’m looking for!

    Megan

  7. April 19, 2011 1:25 pm

    that looks awesome!

  8. April 19, 2011 1:30 pm

    Lovely!! Just curious- is this desk real wood or is some of it veneer? I have a desk at home I’m wanting to paint. Also- did you have to spray a sealer on it?

  9. Angela Hall-Richards permalink
    April 19, 2011 9:24 pm

    I love it. Maybe I’ll do a little thifting before getting a new desk.

  10. April 19, 2011 10:02 pm

    Wow. Now that’s a makeover! Love thrift shops. Nice job.

  11. April 20, 2011 8:08 am

    That’s a fantastic makeover! It looks way better than the Martha Stewart desk! A friend of mine filmed a Goodwill truck dumping their items in a landfill. the truck driver said they dump everything within a few days if it doesn’t sell. That story always haunts me, I shop there as much as I can.

  12. April 20, 2011 9:23 am

    @Megan I’m not certain if the desk is all wood or not (I’m guessing it’s not). Either way, you should be able to just use spray paint without a sealer. There’s also some primer/spray paints in one that might work well.

  13. April 20, 2011 2:06 pm

    You have a fantastic blog site and I love this post about the desk makeover. Looks incredible, better than the Martha Stewart desk pictured.

    Continue to post these great makeover blogs and of course the photos. I love seeing new uses for older, gently used items.

Leave a Reply

