Skip to content

Guest post: Finding the unexpected at Goodwill

May 4, 2011
Erin L. Hubbs

Rachel

I was so inspired by the headgear at last week’s royal wedding, I hot-footed it over to Goodwill to see if I could find some Philip Treacy-esque millinery for myself.

No such luck.

I did, however, stumble upon a slew of wedding gowns, though they were more of the Princess Diana variety.

I didn’t find any hats, but other sparkly vintage things caught my eye, like this insane silver leather jacket, straight from the 1980s. What a fantastic, retro steal at only $7.99!

And while less sparkly, but certainly vintage and perfectly on-trend, these Evan Picone navy wedges.

I made my way to housewares and spotted this adorably retro mint-condition stainless cake stand.

And these glasses that spoke to me because of their Detroit connection (Stroh’s was founded and brewed in the Motor City).

And all of that randomness is why I love shopping at Goodwill. I may head in to a store with a few things in mind, but I inevitably end up seeing something I must have that wasn’t on my list. Everytime you shop, the unexpected is in full effect. And I wouldn’t want it any other way.

-Rachel Sutherland


Stop by our Contributors page for more about Rachel, or read her other posts here.

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 4, 2011 3:04 pm

    This blog is such a great idea! I have a friend in California who manages a Goodwill, I’ll have to tell her about this!!

Leave a Reply

