Skip to content

5 Wears to Wear a Scarf: Updos for Spring

March 26, 2012

 

Amanda

It’s always hard for me to say no to a decorative, vintage scarf when I come across one at Goodwill. Between the scarves I’ve thrifted and the ones passed down to me from my grandmother, you can imagine how large my collection is!

Sometimes, I’ll go traditional and wear one around my neck, but I’m much more interested in finding new ways to put these pretty prints to use. As the weather has warmed, I’m drawn to the idea of hair wraps and updos. Who doesn’t have that image tucked away of the woman in the convertible with sunglasses and silk scarf wrapped around her hair to protect her precious locks? It’s classic and carefree and the perfect inspiration for spring.

Here are five looks from Pinterest for new ways to work a scarf into your hairdo, from some classics to clever new twists. These are great solutions for beach days, when you decide to skip the shower, or when you just simply want to add a little vintage charm to your everyday look.

The Classic

Twist, Coil & Tuck

Braided

The turban

This photo tutorial is from French Etsy, but if you’d like to follow written instructions in English, here is another link: http://honestlywtf.com/diy/diy-turban/

Tied up, hair down

For more ideas on what to do with your thrifted finds, follow Amanda’s “Thrift” board on Pinterest. Or, find more scarf finds and updo ideas to our Goodwill Hunting flickr page. Happy thrifting!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

