Skip to content

Guest Post: Stylish Workplace Attire

May 26, 2012

Nakisha

As a young adult working in corporate America, I’ve often wondered how I can have fun with style and maintain a polished professional look.

The first thing that comes to mind when choosing my work attire is my mom’s infamous “pink tights” story! In the 80s, my mom was interviewing for a position as a bank teller. She proudly dressed in a black business skirt suit, a white button-up cotton shirt, and pink tights.

During the interview, the manager had to excuse himself momentarily. Curiosity got the best of my mom, and she took a peek at the notes that he had written. In big bold letters, the manager had written “Ms. Washington has on bright pink stockings…” Nevertheless, my mother never heard back from them after the interview!

From my mom, and from my own experiences in the workplace, I’ve learned to create balance in my professional attire, while still managing to have fun with bold pieces that are true to my style.

I like bold patterns and bright colors in traditional styled pieces. I’ve paired this necktie chiffon button up blouse with a pair of black slacks to create a bold office look. For a meeting, this blouse could be worn with a well fitted blazer and a skirt. I love shopping at Goodwill to put together these types of looks, because there are so many options and at affordable prices, I can afford to buy more!

On a casual Friday, I like playing around with statement pieces such as this mustard-colored vintage tweed jacket. I toned it down with neutral colors and added in pieces of red to complete the look.

The key to pulling off a stylish, “proFASHIONal” look is balance. Choose a standard base and work around it with statement accessories to create a balanced look.


As far back as she can remember, Nakisha has always been intrigued by fashion. Her first “creation” was using her mother’s and aunt’s clothes to style herself into a life-size replica of her Barbie doll when she was five.

In high school, Nakisha was introduced to modeling. However, she found herself more interested in styling the models rather than working the runway. Throughout high school and college, she began styling fashion shows, pageants, and photo shoots.

Nakisha loves revisiting early eras in fashion in her personal style. She can most often be found in vintage boutiques and, of course, Goodwill. Nakisha does personal shopping and helps her clients save money and look fabulous!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Toya permalink
    June 8, 2012 9:55 am

    Wow! What an awesome article…I love the “proFASHIONal” phrase. I’m inspired to try and dress up my work wardrobe. I never thought about shopping at The Goodwill for work clothes but I will definitely make a point to stop in this weekend. Great tips/ideas.

  2. Donna permalink
    June 8, 2012 10:13 am

    Great article! “ProFashional”…love it! #Brand!

    • June 8, 2012 1:38 pm

      Donna, thank you for the comment! Do you consider yourself proFASHIONal?

Leave a Reply

