Skip to content

Success Story: Wanda

August 18, 2015

DSC_0232 (3)For someone who has been out of the workforce for an extended period of time, landing a new job can be difficult. Lapses in resumes and employment history can become a barrier to employment when trying to find a job. Wanda had been out of the corporate world for more than 14 years and needed help finding long term, sustainable employment.

“My age and gender were always in the back of my mind. I thought to myself, ‘Who is going to ever hire me?’” Wanda said.

One day while at the library, Wanda saw a flyer for Goodwill’s Occupational Skills Training programs, and the hospitality and tourism training class specifically caught her eye. She came to Goodwill and immediately began using the resources to better herself.

“Before I came to Goodwill, I decided I wanted a career, not just a job. Keeping that in the back of my mind helped me overcome my obstacles,” Wanda said.

Before enrolling in Goodwill’s hospitality and tourism training class, Wanda completed several computer courses at Goodwill to gain the technological skills necessary to find employment in today’s competitive workforce. She then completed the seven-week-long hospitality and tourism training class, and continues to return to Goodwill to take additional computer courses.

Wanda said of her time at Goodwill, “I have learned a lot: computer skills, basic communication skills, how to keep a positive attitude in difficult situations, how to be passionate about life, and how to be passionate about the job itself, because how you come across to people determines how they interact with you.”

After completing the training programs at Goodwill, Wanda attended the Goodwill Industries Week Job Fair on Thursday, May 8th, 2015, where she spoke with a manager from Springhill Suites hotels. Wanda filled out a job application and submitted a copy of her resume that day. A few weeks later, she received a call from the manager asking her to come in for an interview. She interviewed and was hired on the spot.

Today, Wanda is a full-time front desk associate at Springhill Suites and enjoys all the benefits of her new career. She is grateful to Goodwill for changing her life.

“The system works. I have a newfound respect for Goodwill. I knew Goodwill was here to help the community, but I didn’t realize the extent. Everything is here and it’s free. All you need to do is walk in and let them know what you want,” she said.

Wanda’s self-confidence is higher than ever, and she is looking forward to her future.

“I feel like I can conquer the world. I feel like I beat the odds, and I’m just as happy as I can be,” she said. “I thank God every day for Goodwill.”

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

