Skip to content

Happy flannel-ing!

December 13, 2010

If there’s one thing Goodwill is never low on, it’s a vast selection of men’s flannel shirts.  Even if flannel doesn’t fit into your wardrobe, it’s a great way to add some charm to your holiday decor.

image via Eddie Ross

I saw this great project from designer Eddie Ross last year.  He took men’s flannel shirts in lots of different plaids and patterns and made them into beautiful Christmas ornaments using inexpensive styrofoam balls (found at any craft store).
PlaidShirtStrips
image via Eddie Ross

He simply cut the fabric from shirts into strips and pinned them into the styrofoam. You can find the full tutorial here.
[6a00e55391c48e88330128764fb64e970c-450wi[1].jpg]
image via Eddie Ross

He used these particular ornaments to decorate the railing in Kathie Lee Gifford’s home last Christmas:
PlaidShirtDetails
image via Eddie Ross

And, that’s not the only thing you can do with flannel for Christmas. When searching the web, I also came across this cute project, using flannels shirts to make a creative garland:
image via Paper and Cake
Need a last minute gift idea?  Buy an inexpensive (and fragrant!) rosemary tree from your local garden center and wrap the container in a piece of pretty plaid flannel. Instantly festive!
Now’s the time to stock up on flannel shirts and get creative this Christmas.
-Emily A. Clark

Stop by our Contributors page for more about Emily, or or read her other posts here.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. December 13, 2010 9:35 am

    I love this idea! Thank you for sharing! I think I may make a wreath with the flannel!

  2. December 13, 2010 9:43 am

    Love the idea of using these flannel pieces to create a wreath–if you take pictures, we hope you’ll share them with us!

  3. December 13, 2010 10:38 am

    I just bought about 6 flannel shirts last week. I love patterns!

    Mr. Goodwill Hunting

  4. December 16, 2010 11:12 pm

    oooh lala I love it! I’m always trying to find an excuse to buy everything in sight when I go to the G-dub, whether I need it or not, and now I have lots of new idea brewing in my head. Thanks!

  5. December 17, 2010 11:46 am

    Mr. Goodwill Hunting and Brooke — so glad you liked Emily’s post!

    ~Aleigh at Goodwill

Leave a comment