Skip to content

Guest post: Trunk love.

February 21, 2011

I would like to introduce you to my latest Goodwill find:

I was thrilled to find this vintage trunk for just $15 on one of my recent Goodwill shopping trips. So thrilled, in fact, that I decided it was worth the task of carrying it and two of my kids out to the car.

image via Country Living

I’m always on the look out for stylish ways to store our “stuff” (toys, books, DVDs–you name it). Trunks are a great solution not only for the amount of things they can hold, but they can double as an end table, nightstand, coffee table or even a small window seat.

image via Simplified Bee
They also add a certain charm to a space. . .
image via The Growers Daughter
If you have a room full of newer or matching end tables, throw an old trunk into the mix.
image via DecorPad
They’re also completely paint-able, if you prefer a bolder, more modern look:
image via Design*Sponge
Here are some other great examples of how vintage trunks can be used in unexpected ways:
image via CasaSugar
image via Lonny magazine
Turned on its side, this trunk is the perfect height to work as a nighstand:
image via Houzz
Try layering a trunk under a coffee table or console for a space-saving storage solution:
image via Houzz
Do you own a vintage trunk? How do you use it in your home?
-Emily A. Clark

EDITOR’S NOTE: If Emily’s post has gotten you in the mood to shop, head to our stores today only for our Presidents Day sale–everything is 20% off! (This sale excludes our Goodwill Outlet and Computer Works stores.) Stop by our Contributors page for more about Emily, or or read her other posts here.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Katie permalink
    February 23, 2011 9:31 am

    I have that exact trunk. When I was single, it was my coffee table, with young kids it stored dress up clothes, and now that my kids are a little older, it will soon support a TV and Wii in the playroom. Very versatile!

    • February 23, 2011 12:26 pm

      Thanks for the comment, Katie! Trunks are definitely versatile furniture–and great storage, too.

  2. February 23, 2011 2:49 pm

    I love this post! Great showcase of using trunks in the home! -DCGF

Leave a comment